WaterWorks - 2007 Resource Guide
Listening Room - Listen To Water Music

Listen to some of the greatest works of Water Music using the controls below. All files are streamed using Adobe Flash. If you don't see the music controls, click here to download the Flash Player.
Note: if you have a slower Internet connection and the music is playing faster than it is loading and causing skips or stops, begin loading the file by pushing the Play button, then use the Pause button to stop the playback while the loading continues. When the file has sufficiently loaded, hit the Play button again to listen. Do not attempt to play multiple files at the same time.

Alexander Zemlinsky
The Mermaid

EMI B0000647J6

Conductor: James Conlon
Performed by: Gürzenich-Orchester Kolner Philharmoniker

Claude Debussy
La Mer

NAXOS 8.550262

Conductor: Alexander Rahbari
Performed by: BRT Philharmonic Orchestra, Brussels
© 1989 HNH International Ltd
© 2002 HNH International Ltd

Paul Dukas (1835-1921)
The Sorcerer's Apprentice

NAXOS 8.554463

Conductor: Kenneth Jean
Performed by: Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
© 1989-98 HNH International Ltd
© 2000 HNH International Ltd

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
The Carnival of the Animals

NAXOS 8.554463

Conductor: Ondrej Lenárd
Performed by: Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
Narrated by: Johnny Morris
© 1989-98 HNH International Ltd
© 2000 HNH International Ltd

Franz Peter Schubert (1797-1828)
Auf dem Wasser zu singen

NAXOS 8.557568

Baritone: Wolfgang Holzmair
Fortepiano: Ulrich Eisenlohr
(P) & © 2005 Naxos Rights international Ltd

Bedrich Smetana (1824-1884)
Má Vlast (My Country)
2. Vltava (Moldau)

NAXOS 8.557568

Conductor: Antoni Wit
Performed by: Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra
© 2001 HNH International Ltd

Frydyrick Chopin (1810-1849)
Barcarolle, Op. 60

NAXOS 8.554536

Piano: Idil Biret
© 1992 HNH International Ltd
© 1999 HNH International Ltd

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Chasse-neige (Snow-Whirls), in B flat minor

NAXOS 8.553119

Piano: Jenõ Jandó
© 1997 HNH International Ltd

Ludwig van Beethoven (1811-1886)
Symphony No. 6 in F Major,Op. 68
3. Gewitter, Sturm (Thunderstorm), Allegro

NAXOS 8.554061

Conductor: Béla Drahos
Performed by: Nicolaus Esterházy Sinfonia
© 1996 & 97 HNH International Ltd
© 1997 HNH International Ltd

Return to top of page

Entire site contents Copyright ©2007 Ravinia Festival, a not-for-profit organization.